Distribution of the Mezenc Marmots


The Gandoulet site, on bottom of Mezenc<br> The Gandoulet site, on bottom of Mezenc

History of the introduction of the marmots to Mezenc

In 1980, 11 adults and subadults alpine marmots were introduced in the botom of the Mezenc Massif, on the gandoulet site (elevation 1350 m). This site is located in the Rhone Basin, with a South exposure and scree slopes. Marmots were trapped by rangers of the National office of Hunting and of the National parks, in Savoy (Alps). They came from different family groups. Animals were not identified with markings and any artificial burrows were prepared.

Four re-inforcements were carried out on this site, 15 marmots in 1983, 12 animals in 1985, 5 in 1986 and 10 in 1987. However, in 1984, no marmot was installed on this site, but three other sites were colonized close to springs, to 1400 m of altitude and respectively to 3600, 3750 and 6900 m of the site of release.

In 1989, whereas eleven family groups were already installed (9 in the Mediterranean part and 2 in the Atlantic part), 32 additional marmots were released in a large scree in the Atlantic Basin, 6 km of the first site of release. Since, a family group continues to occupy this site.
YearSiteNb.Total
198011111
198311515
198511212
1986955
198711010
1989363232
199111
20
36
41
4
5
7
7
23
Total108

Thus, the marmot introduction Mezenc included two releases in sites without marmots (either 43 animals) and nine reinforcements between 1983 and 1991. On the whole, 108 marmots were transported and released in Mezenc.

The current marmot population of Mezenc results thus from these 108 marmots released between 1980 and 1991.

Citation : Distribution of the Mezenc Marmots - © 2017, Le Berre M., Metral J. (ONCFS), Putz O. (LPO) & Ramousse R.
Last modification: 2010-11-27 14:27:16

Distribution des Marmottes du Mézenc


Le site de Gandoulet, sur fond de Mézenc<br> Le site de Gandoulet, sur fond de Mézenc

Historique de l'introduction des marmottes au Mézenc

En 1980, 11 marmottes alpines adultes ou subadultes ont été introduites au bas du Massif du Mézenc, sur le site de Gandoulet (1350 m d'altitude). Il s'agit d'un lieu situé dans le bassin du Rhône, exposé au Sud et riche en pierriers. Les marmottes avaient été capturées par des gardes de l'Office National de la Chasse et des Parcs Nationaux, dans les Alpes de Savoie. Elles appartenaient à différents groupes familiaux. Il n'y avait eu ni marquage des animaux, ni préparation de terriers artificiels.

Quatre renforcements ont été effectués sur ce site, en 1983 (15 marmottes), en 1985 (12 individus), en 1986 (5 individus) et en 1987 (10 marmottes). Cependant, en 1984, on ne constata pas d'installation de marmottes sur ce site, mais trois autres sites avaient été colonisés près de sources, à 1400 m d'altitude et respectivement à 3600, 3750 and 6900 m du site de lâcher.

En 1989, alors que onze groupes familiaux étaient déjà installés (9 dans la partie méditerranéenne et 2 dans la partie atlantique), 32 marmottes supplémentaires ont été relachées dans un grand pierrier du bassin atlantique, à 6 km du premier site de lâcher. Un groupe familial continue d'occuper cet emplacement depuis cette date.
AnnéeSiteNb.Total
198011111
198311515
198511212
1986955
198711010
1989363232
199111
20
36
41
4
5
7
7
23
Total108

L'opération d'introduction des marmottes dans le Mézenc a donc compris deux lâchers dans des sites sans marmottes (soit 43 animaux) et neuf renforcements entre 1983 et 1991. Au total, 108 marmottes ont été transportées et lachées dans le Mézenc.

La population actuelle de marmottes du Mézenc est donc issue de ces 108 marmottes relachées entre 1980 et 1991.

Citation : Distribution des Marmottes du Mézenc - © 2017, Le Berre M., Metral J. (ONCFS), Putz O. (LPO) & Ramousse R.
Dernière modification le 27-11-2010 14:27:16